James Borrell wins SES Cadogan Tate Explorer Award 2015

Part of the annual Scientific Exploration Society (SES) Explorer awards, the SES  Cadogan Tate Explorer Award was this week presented at a ceremony in London to exploration’s rising star James Borrell.
Founded in 1969 by Colonel John Blashford-Snell and colleagues following the successful first navigation of the Ethiopian Blue Nile, the SES draws together a worldwide programme of scientific expeditions for the exploration of remote regions of the earth. It focuses on scientific, conservation, education and community aid projects.
The award winners joined legendary names from the world of exploration, including Sir Ranulph Fiennes, Honorary Vice President of the SES; Neville Shulman CBE, explorer and author; Pen Hadow, Arctic explorer; Andrew Mitchell, Chairman of the SES and rainforest advocate; and Col John Blashford Snell, founder and Honorary President of the Scientific Exploration Society.
The SES Cadogan Tate Explorer Award was presented by Sir Ranulph Fiennes OBE to James Borrell and his ‘Expedition Angano 2015: Mapping the Impact of Forest Fragmentation’. Due to take place in Madagascar in December 2015, the expedition will look at the minimum forest fragment size needed to support healthy reptile and amphibian communities in the area, and attempt to establish the habitat corridors needed to ‘join up the dots’.
An aspect of the project that particularly appealed to the judges was its legacy for future conservation in this unique but ecologically fragile place, as the award will be used to meet the expenses of local Malagasy students joining the project, building research and conservation capacity for the future.
The SES Cadogan Tate Explorer Award is designed to support expeditions focusing on the advancement of organic and natural practices, conservation, and preservation of our planet, life on the planet and its environment, and taking place within under-developed regions of the world.
To be considered for an award, candidate expeditions had to be innovative and ground-breaking, and contain elements of daring adventure alongside valuable research. Expedition leaders had to demonstrate how they as individuals are ‘pioneers with purpose’, helping to inspire others and undertaking research that will  leave a lasting legacy.
It is the second time that Cadogan Tate has sponsored the award, with the two 2014 recipients of the award travelling to Belize and Ladakh, to work in the fields of coral reef ecology and climate change impact respectively.
In addition, Cadogan Tate has worked extensively with the SES for many years, being perfectly positioned to provide storage, transportation services and expertise in expedition logistics to destinations throughout the world.
Zach Wright of Cadogan Tate comments: “We are delighted to be able to sponsor this award, since as a company we are passionate about the environment and support a number of conservation initiatives worldwide. James’ expedition later this year will lay the foundations for a future of conservation work in Madagascar, and we are thrilled that this project been selected as recipient of the award.”
For more information on the SES, visit www.ses-explore.org, or for further details on the awards, visit www.ses-explore.org/awards. James speaks about the plans for his expedition to Madagascar here.
Information correct at time of publication.
Image: © Nicholas Young Photography